Adjuster Licensing in Florida – Become a Florida Insurance Claims Adjuster

Florida residents and nonresidents of states that do not require a regulatory license are eligible for the Florida All Lines Independent or Company Adjuster license if:

1. You are 18 years or older;

2. An online application is completed and the $55.00 application fee is paid;

3. You are a US citizen or legal alien with a work permit;

4. Fingerprints are submitted to one of the locations authorized by the Florida Department of Financial Services (out-of-state applicants will receive a fingerprint card to fill out from the Department);

5. You have successfully completed the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation from the University of Central Florida or one of the other accredited designations, or you have passed the state licensing exam.

Florida also maintains a cross license agreement with the following states.

Alabama – Independent appraisers only

Alaska – Independent appraisers only

Arkansas – Independent appraisers only

Connecticut – Independent, Public and Proprietary Surveyors

Georgia – Only independent and public experts. (Does not require a corporate setter license)

Idaho – Independent appraisers only

Illinois – Public experts only

Kentucky – Independent, Public and Proprietary Surveyors

Maine – Public and independent appraisers

Michigan – Public and Independent Experts

Mississippi – Independent appraisers only

New Mexico – Independent and Proprietary Surveyors

North Carolina – Independent, Public and Proprietary Surveyors

Oklahoma – Independent, Public and Proprietary Surveyors

Oregon – Public and Independent Reviewers

Pennsylvania – Public Assessors

South Carolina – Independent and proprietary appraisers only

Texas – Independent and Proprietary Surveyors

West Virginia – Independent, Public and Proprietary Surveyors

Washington – Public and independent appraisers

Wyoming – Independent, Public and Proprietary Surveyors

Utah – Public and Independent Reviewers

States that do not require an appraiser’s license include Colorado, District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin.


Florida first approved the Accredited Claims Adjuster designation in 2003. This designation was the first and original exemption from the state licensing exam. The course was offered as a distance learning course by Florida Insurance University in partnership with the University of Central Florida in 2004. One in four appraiser licenses in Florida have been approved using the ACA designation.

Although other providers are now offering claims adjuster designations, over 250 insurance and adjustment companies use the ACA designation for licensing resident and non-resident claims adjusters. The ACA website is located at

The ACA designation consists of a series of open-book, multiple-choice tests and a written assignment. Students learn to read and research political issues, identify entitlement issues, and receive a University of Central Florida certificate of completion at the end of the course, exempting them from the state licensing exam.


Every FL fitter must complete 24 hours of CE every two years to retain the license. The 24 hours must include state-approved 2-hour ethics courses; 10 hour law; 12 hour optional.

All required courses are on the UCF website and all work can be completed online at:

Thanks to Michael Birzon | #Adjuster #Licensing #Florida #Florida #Insurance #Claims #Adjuster

Check Also

An open letter to my sales manager

An open letter to my sales manager

Dear sales manager, How many times have I heard you say that you want me …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *